UGC Releases List of Fake Universities

University Grants Commission: Higher Education Organization UGC Releases List of Fake Universities

According to the University Grants Commission (UGC) Act, 1956, only a university established by the Central or State or Provincial Act or an institution deemed to be university under Section 3 of the Act is allowed to call themselves a university.

Therefore, any institution that does not comply with the above rule is prohibited from using the term ‘university’ under Section 23 of the Act.

Take a look List of Fake Universities

1. Raja Arabic University, Nagpur, Maharashtra
2. Varanseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Delhi
3. Commercial University Ltd, Delhi
4. United Nations University, Delhi
5. Vocational University, Delhi
6. ADR- Central Juridical University, Delhi
7. Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, Delhi
8. Badagnavi Sarkar World Open Educational Society, Belgaum, Karnataka
9. St. John’s University, Kishanattam, Kerala
10. Kesarwani Vidyapith, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
11. Maithili University, Darbhanga, Bihar
12. D D B Sanskrit University, Putur, Trichy, Tamil Nadu
13. Indian institute of Alternative Medicine, Kolkata, West Bengal
14. Mahila Gram Vidyapith, Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh
15. Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh
16. National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh
17. Netaki Subhash Chandra Bose University, Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh
18. Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Uttar Pradesh
19. Maharana Pratap Shiksha Niketan Vidyalaya, Pratapgarh, Uttar Pradesh
20. Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Noida-Phase II, Uttar Pradesh
21. Gurukul Vishwavidyalaya, Mathura, Uttar Pradesh

The University Grants Commission, the apex body for higher education, published a list of fake universities in the country for the benefit of students. A total number of 21 universities have been spotted by the UGC. 8 of these 21 fake universities are in Uttar Pradesh (U.P) -the highest in the country while 6 others are in Delhi. Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Bihar and West Bengal have 1 fake university each.